povitic(read -tz)a

And once again here I am posting about the Daring Bakers challenge with a single post in between. Let’s face it, if it wasn’t for the challenges this blog would likely be dead.

It isn’t that I haven’t been baking, or indeed crafting, far from it. But with winter coming and daylight slowly disappearing, it becomes far harder to take pictures, and believe me when I say you don’t want to see my attempts at it.

povitica

So, Povitica; a recipe from Eastern Europe. That’s what I  was told. Like many things in Eastern Europe – let’s be disgustingly pedantic and generalise about EVERYTHING east of Germany – it is pronounced a specific way that makes it much more interesting and exotic sounding: poviti-tza; Brancush.

Blog-checking lines alert:

The Daring Baker’s October 2011 challenge was Povitica, hosted by Jenni of The Gingered Whisk. Povitica is a traditional Eastern European Dessert Bread that is as lovely to look at as it is to eat!

So as it turns out a quick Wikipedia lookup will tell you that it’s quite a widespread baked good. But hey, let’s go with Povitica because, why not?

povitica (with glasses)

I made half the recipe, and it yielded two large loafs. Or it would have, if I had two loaf pans. Alas, just one. So the other was actually shaped like a round spring-form tin. Still nice.

round povitica before baking

Anyway, if you’re thinking of making Povitica, consider the following (aka advice I need to follow myself when I make it again):

1. There is a lot of kneading involved. A LOT. of kneading. Seriously, I think the recipe says 10 mins, but I did it for longer than 20 mins. No joke. I did hand knead it. I can’t remember if the recipe says to use a stand mixer or something. If you have one, use it.

2. After you stretch the dough, make sure that you cut the edges. Mine were kind of thick and i didn’t cut them so I had a few areas where the Povitica was a bit doughy – I think taking that away would make it look nicer and improve the texture too.

just looking at these is making me hungry

On stretching the dough: it’s fun. You want to keep stretching and stretching but it does give in to excessive handling. Ask me how I know.

I also don’t have a blender (we practise involuntary low-tech baking in this kitchen) so I chopped the nuts by hand. They weren’t very fine so there were clumps of nuts here and there, but I don’t see that as a problem. Still tasty.

I baked both at the same time and froze one. Therefore I only have pictures of the loaf-shaped one.

I would promise posts on Christmas preparations, but I think we both know it’s unlikely.

want.

This entry was posted in baking, daring bakers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to povitic(read -tz)a

  1. nancy says:

    Yours looks so nice! The larger nuts give it an unusual look. Not sure I’d make this one again though.

Leave a Reply

