chocolate war of the worlds

chocolate

Time for another Daring Bakers. I can’t believe I have been posting so little that there is only another post separating the previous challenge from this one. Embarrassing. I just found a load of pictures of stuff I made and never posted about, so let’s expect some more frequent posts in the near future. I just made some muffins too, and those have to go on here.

So anyway, this month’s Daring Bakers. I’ll let the blog-checking lines do my job for me:

The August 2011 Daring Bakers’ Challenge was hosted by Lisa of Parsley, Sage, Desserts and Line Drive and Mandy of What the Fruitcake?!. These two sugar mavens challenged us to make sinfully delicious candies! This was a special challenge for the Daring Bakers because the good folks at http://www.chocoley.com offered an amazing prize for the winner of the most creative and delicious candy!

Nevermind about the creative and delicious candy, because that is just for US peeps. What is delicious anyway?

invaders!

My candy was not delicious, it was da bomb. Notice how I am using past tense when referring to it; it’s gone.

I used the opportunity to see if I could temper chocolate. I can, but it is a pain, especially in a warm day. It just took ages to get to the lower temperature, but I think on cooler days it should be fine. And suddenly I have a whole new option for Christmas gifts.

easy but delicious chocolate coated marzipan

So we only had to make 2 types of candy, but while I was busy melting chocolate I decided to go all out – I made 4 different types. Yes, I decided to show off.

The first one was filled chocolates – I had leftover raspberry reduction and used it to fill dark chocolate shells. I didn’t do this very well as most of my shells broke when i took them out of their moulds. I think I need to work harder on those.

aaaaaaaarghhhhhhhhhhhhhh

I also used some of my home made marzipan with walnuts and cranberries, and coated it in white chocolate. This is awesome – it is not that hard to make (it was by far the easiest one out of the lot) and it looks and tastes pretty professional. Christmas gifts recipients, I hope you like marzipan!

raspberry filled dark chocolate shells

Then I made some solid chocolate shapes – I used a novelty ice cube tray that produces space invaders. Space invaders! Interesting you say? Well, look at them! LOOK AT THEM.

And finally I just made 2 rose shaped chocolates and then sprinkled them with walnuts and candied cherries when they were in their mould. These are quite brilliant, but next time I don’t think I’ll make them as thick – they were a bit hard on the teeth, believe it or not.

the raspberry guts

So yeah, that’s it. Chocolate. It was fun!

What’s next?

all gone now

This entry was posted in baking, daring bakers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

