marzipan ice cream

So I did it.

I finally did it.

I made my own dessert from scratch. Rather I assembled my own flavour composition from scratch. That’s right. All the recipes for the individual components were borrowed from other people, but the final ensemble, that was all me.

this is it

And the result was pretty damned tasty, if I do say so myself! It all started with the fraisiers and my lovely almond paste. From the moment I put it in the freezer, I knew it wouldn’t last. It was just too good for this world.

It wouldn’t be able to keep it from taste-bud central.

I ended up making this incredible marzipan ice cream – so incredible it is in fact the title of this post. More because I didn’t know what to call this assembly I made and didn’t want to have a long cumbersome title describing every single ingredient and cooking method than anything else though.

SO

Marzipan ice cream – as good as marzipan with the advantage that there is more of it. This was just the best. I know I say this a lot, but why look any further? I only do because I am full of contradictions and essentially a hypocrite who just says these things so you’ll try her desserts.

yes not the most attractive

yes not the most attractive

I also had a bunch of egg whites. Let’s talk about eggs for a second. Eggs are proof that intelligent design is a fallacy. Because either there are too many egg yolks or too many egg whites. No self-respecting deity would allow this.

I had extra egg whites, so meringue happened. I didn’t really like the recipe so I won’t post it here or name any names… DELIA.

And of course my leftover gooseberries were made into an extremely tart compote. The recipe specified very little sugar, I may have used even less. I would not try this compote unless I had something incredibly sweet to counteract it.

And then I just piled everything together – with some discipline, I am not a complete dessert iconoclast. So meringue first, then an ice cream scoop, then some gooseberry compote. And thus it emerged, my first dessert.

looks worse after you start eating it.

It wasn’t half bad either. The gooseberries made sure it wasn’t sickly sweet, and everything else was just the delight in the dish. I will probably make this again, but next time I will try a different meringue recipe. Probably Raymond Blanc’s as it has received such rave reviews from my fellow baking/Dirty Dancing soundtrack fiend.

Marzipan Ice Cream
(adapted from a Matthew Gray recipe on BBC Food)
I made this ice cream using the Philadelphia method, I will try it with the French method one day and let you know which is better.
300 ml milk
100 ml double cream
140g caster sugar
155g marzipan (or almond paste or whatever)
1. Mix all ingredients using a blender, and pour into a medium sized pan (by the way I also added a vanilla pod that I had used for a strawberry reduction – I recycle vanilla pods).
2. Place over low heat and allow to lightly simmer for a few minutes – about 10. Let cool for a few minutes, and then sieve to remove any large remnants of marzipan. There shouldn’t be many, but this will make your ice cream smoother.
3. Chill in the fridge and then churn in the ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.
Gooseberry Compote
(adapted from this recipe by Elaine Lemm)
250g gooseberries, washed and top and tailed
20g brown sugar
A splash of elderflower cordial
1. Place the gooseberries in a roasting tray – if they are too large, cut them into smaller pieces. Sprinkle with the sugar.
2. Place in the oven, having preheated it to 180 degrees C.
3. When they’ve lost their shape and looked cooked (about 20 mins later) remove them from the oven and place in a shallow dish; crush whatever gooseberries may be intact with a fork until you get a paste. Add elderflower cordial to taste.

there we go

This entry was posted in baking, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to marzipan ice cream

  1. Nancy says:

    Delia how could you?

    Looks awesome though!

Leave a Reply

