strawberry ice cream

In terms of baking and cooking, I would consider myself a follower. Even though I might make changes to some recipes to suit what I have in my cupboard or the flavours I prefer, I am at this point unable to make something out of nothing. Whenever I have dared to try, the results have always been sub-par.

I don’t have that many cookbooks (contrary to what my boyfriend may tell you), so I rely heavily on the internets. Fortunately for me I’ve managed to find a number of places where I know I can find good recipes.

strawberry ice cream

strawberry ice cream

BraveTart is one of those places. It is my favourite food blog. Not only is Stella (the author) an incredible baker, she is also a very entertaining writer, who doesn’t sugar coat things (even when she sugar coats things – b’dum tsh). All the recipes I tried from her wonderful list have come out nicely, and disappeared from the kitchen almost instantaneously.

When I saw her strawberry (or rather berry) ice cream, I knew this was something I would have to try. I love strawberry ice cream, but not just any strawberry ice cream. It needs to taste like strawberries, and I find not many achieve that. They taste like something I call ‘strawberry flavoured’, but that is not strawberry and never will be.

My mother makes the perfect strawberry ice cream – I don’t have her recipe although I have been meaning to get it for ages. I suppose it is actually better that I don’t have it, otherwise there would be a permanent strawberry genocide in my kitchen. Honestly. I would probably have to be investigated. And I would need a StairMaster and some bigger clothes.

Anyway, back to Stella’s recipe. Nancy and her mother sent me some serendipitous strawberries that I had to use for this thing.

look at all that pink!

look at all that pink!

The recipe is unusual in terms of ice cream, at least for me. But that’s never stopped me before.

I started out by making the strawberry reduction. Instead of leaving the fruit to macerate in the sugar for 2 hours, I left it overnight. The next day it was pretty much ready to be eaten – but no, I managed to keep it away from my mouth and proceeded to make the actual reduction.

Now, word of advice: when Stella says ‘add rose water’, don’t question it. I know it seems weird, but if you think rose water has no place in a strawberry reduction (you racist), you are wrong. So so wrong. Because in fact, when added to the reduction, it transforms the strawberries into ~strawberries~. I had to taste it at least 4 (hundred) times to make sure that it was actually real. This must be what unicorns and clouds taste like (not that I’d ever eat a nicely roasted, falling off the bone unicorn, of course!).

When I added the ingredients that turn this into ice cream, I was a bit generous with my spirits, and ended up going for a mixture that added up to twice as much as the recipe calls for. Which just proves how magical the whole thing really is, as it came out super creamy and lovely. Oh, I also used coconut cream instead of coconut milk, as I was unable to find the latter (believe it or not). I think I shall stick with coconut cream from now on.

i may

I may have an unnatural obsession with this colour

So there you have it. The reason why, if you’re reading this blog, you should stop wasting your time and head over to BraveTart. That’s where all the cool kids hang nowadays. So get over there!

Strawberry Reduction by BraveTart
Strawberry Ice Cream
(adapted from BraveTart’s Favourite Ice Cream)
1/2 batch of strawberry reduction
1 packet of unsweetened coconut cream
pinch salt, or more to taste
5 ml vodka
5 ml cherry brandy
5 ml sloe gin
Whisk all ingredients together, then refrigerate for a couple of hours. Process it in your ice cream machine, following the manufacturer’s instructions.
It doesn’t really get any easier.
Yield: about 0.5 l of mindblowing strawberry ice cream.
the last of the decent pictures i took

the last of the decent pictures I took

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to strawberry ice cream

  1. Karen says:

    Hello, I wanted to say how much I enjoy your blog. I like the humor you put in your writing. The ice cream really sounds delicious. When I was growing up in Texas, every 4th of July we would make homemade strawberry ice cream. I’m going to have to try your version.

    • 1. Thank you, that is very kind!
      2. I want to be American just to play with the red white and blue baking opportunities in the fourth of July – it’s the most awesomest holiday ever; I also love barbecues. Fact: I am envious of all my American friends
      3. Thank you again.

  2. nancy says:

    Looks yummy!!! I have to tell you though, once you go unicorn you never go back…

Leave a Reply

