citrus curd

This week has been quite busy; besides work, I offered to make macarons for Nancy, who was preparing a birthday party for her mother. She wasn’t going to have the time to make them herself, so I offered to do it, which proved to be a quite silly idea. I thought I had macarons figured out, and that this would be all right, as long as I changed from silicone mats to parchment, and they’d be perfect and I’d be oh so proud and etc.

Oh no.

Not at all. My first batch was impossible to separate from the parchment, so I instantly decided mats would have to do. I thought to myself: they won’t look perfect, but eh. I should have just kept my mouth shut. My next few batches were complete disasters: they all stuck to the mat and even though the shells looked lovely and would have been a joy to photograph, they were just awful. They essentially consisted of shell and nothing else – or rather, everything else was stuck to the mat. And this even though I increased the baking time (at least for one batch) to about 20 mins.

Anyway. Macarons were decided to prove to me that I still need practice. And fair enough. I took me about 5 tries to get a half decent batch. By then I had had enough and was feeling sorry for all the eggs I had used. I just gave up.

I was left with 12 egg yolks and no immediate plan for them. Ever since Spring arrived though, I have been eating grapefruits every day, and well, they’re so marvellous that I had to make something grapefruit flavoured with my yolks. Let’s see, grapefruit and yolks – the answer was staring me in the face: Grapefruit Curd.

citrus curd

citrus curd

I mean, we all know lemon curd is pretty amazing, but grapefruit. sugar. and eggs. You can’t really go wrong, can you?

So there we go. Grapefruit curd. I decided to actually call it citrus curd, as I used a few lemons to get to the desired amount of liquid (they were starting to go off) but it is decidedly grapefruit territory. I made a lot of it too. So much that it was enough to gift to my boyfriend’s mother for mother’s day, along with a cross stitch bookmark that I made – also in the pictures, although only in details as my pictures this week sucked – these are the only ones that are more or less decent (I think I may be getting a bit ahead of myself on my photography self-critique – this blog is starting to sound incredibly pretentious).

Anyway, below is the recipe – it is a beautiful golden colour, and I would advise you try it, if you like tangy and sweet. If you’re not as big a fan of grapefruit as I am, maybe stick with lemon, or be bold and try a different citrus fruit – I probably will too. Feel free to halve the recipe – I only made this much because otherwise I would have to rack my brains thinking about something else to make – and with all the macaron failure I had by this point had enough of the kitchen.

citrus curd

citrus curd and detail of the bookmark

Citrus curd
(adapted from Almost Bourdain)
12 egg yolks
150 ml pink grapefruit juice (about 1 grapefruit)
100 ml lemon juice (about 2 lemons)
1 1/2 cup caster sugar
140 g cold butter, cut into cubes.
Put the fruit juice, egg yolks and sugar in a pan over medium heat. Whisk continuously to prevent it clumping (?) and remove from heat when thick enough to cover the back of a spoon. Whisk in the butter in cubes, one by one – only adding the next one once the previous one has been absorbed. Transfer to jars and keep refrigerated for about 1 week.
Yields just over 2 cups.
This entry was posted in baking, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to citrus curd

  1. This is great, I’ve never thought of grapefruit curd. We’ve been on a macaroon bender, so we’re always looking for ways to use yolks too.

Leave a Reply

