lemon yoghurt parfait

Spring is finally arriving it seems – and with it well, diets. Even though it’s only young, my blog has already been a source of weight gain (I bake more than I post, and somethings that don’t seem good enough for the blog – I’ve become a lot more demanding lately – are still good for the belly. Or bad, in retrospect).

That means that I need to start making more healthy foods. I did say in a previous post that I would try that, but so far with little success. Anyway, consider this take 2.

lemon yogurt parfait

lemon yogurt parfait - in shot size

I start it off with a quick and easy recipe, inspired by the jar of lemon curd sitting in my fridge, given to me by Nancy. It is really delicious lemon curd, sweet and tangy at the same time, and it works for this recipe that I made up on the spot and can be tweaked and altered at will depending on what ingredients you may have at home.

lemon parfait

topped with a strawberry heart

Lemon Yoghurt ‘Parfait’
(inspired by this one, serves 1)
6 tbsp yoghurt
2 tbsp lemon curd (if you have a Nancy in your life you can just use hers, otherwise you can follow her recipe)
1-2 strawberries, depending on size
2 tsp granola (preferably home-made)
1 tsp mint syrup
Put 2 tbsp yoghurt in a small glass and sprinkle with the granola. Pour the lemon curd on top and then some more yoghurt. Cut a strawberry into cubes and sprinkle them over the top (add some more granola if desired). Pour the mint syrup over this. Enjoy.
yum

yum

It’s relatively healthy (not as healthy as, say, eating fruit, but not that far off I guess – there is only sugar in the syrup and the curd, and most of the dessert is yoghurt and fruit anyway) so you won’t feel so bad when you reach for the second portion…

This entry was posted in baking, recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to lemon yoghurt parfait

  1. Cathy says:

    Oh my gosh, this looks so cute! I’ve been wanting to make lemon curd for a while, so this just might be the inspiration I need. Love the strawberry heart!

  2. Nancy says:

    This is so cute!! Glad the curd came to good and healthier use than how I eat it!! You can find the recipe on my lemon meringue pie post. X

Leave a Reply

