madeleines

Ce soir j’attends Madeleine
J’ai apporté du lilas
J’en apporte toutes les s’maines
Madeleine elle aime bien ça
Jacques Brel, Madeleine
honey madeleines and mint syrup

honey madeleines and mint syrup

After our wonderful cooking and baking feast last week, I was left with a big bunch of mint and no ideas of what to do with it. In a chat with Nancy (we are a sort of baking twins, as we bounce ideas off each other and talk about baking all the time – as our workmates will attest to), she suggested I made mint syrup. And I did.

Turns out mint syrup is one of my favourite things, and has an amazing flavour that improves pretty much everything it touches. I wanted it to feature in one of my blogs, but didn’t really know how to make it stand out, and what baking good could carry it.

enjoy with a cup of earl grey tea

Then I started thinking about honey and mint. And so I ended up making these madeleines from a recipe I found here. They came out really well, nice and fluffy, but unfortunately stuck to the pan a little bit – I had greased and floured them, but I suppose next time I should try a more thorough method.

The madeleines are great on their own, but dunked in the mint syrup they are positively divine – merit of the original recipe no doubt. They are definitely the perfect vehicle for the lovely syrup, and I’ll be sure to show it off by making these again and again.

honey madeleines

honey madeleines

Honey Madeleines Recipe
(from abby.lidia.stephanie)
Mint Syrup
1 cup mint leaves
1 cups water
2 cups sugar
Put the water and sugar in a small pan and bring to a simmer. Allow to simmer for about 10 minutes until sugar dissolves completely and mixture becomes a syrup. Remove from heat and add mint leaves. Leave to infuse overnight.
Strain the mint and discard the leaves. Pour syrup into a clean bottle or jar with lid. Keeps in the fridge for a few weeks.
Yields about 2-3 cups of syrup.
This entry was posted in baking, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to madeleines

  1. nancy says:

    Mmmmm minty goodness! The madeleines look loverly.

  2. Oh my! That mint syrup sounds so good! It would work on so many things… and your madeleines are picture perfect🙂

Leave a Reply

