carrots and courgette bread

Last week I decided to try making macarons. Let’s say it didn’t go very well, as usual I didn’t have all the necessary ingredients so I decided to skip some, and even though they were tasty, the results were really not worth looking at so I just ate them all with some Nutella.

In order to re-establish my faith in baking, I decided to make something else, that would have a bit more predictable results. I finally decided on a zucchini and orange marmalade tea cake I found online. I made small changes to it according to what ingredients I had at home and which ones I wanted to try. The result was a really moist and tasty tea cake that we have enjoyed all week.

orange marmalade, carrots, courgette

Courgette, Carrot and Orange Marmalade Cake
(adapted from Passionate About Baking)
1  3/4 cup s + 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups grated courgette
1/2 cup grated carrots
1/2 cup orange marmalade
3/4 cup vanilla caster sugar
1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons olive oil
2 large eggs
1/2 cup pecans, coarsely chopped
Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees C; grease a 2 lb loaf pan.
Mix all dry ingredients (excluding nuts) in a bowl and set aside. In a separate bowl, mix wet ingredients until combined.
Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and stir until you can’t see any lumps of flour. Be careful to not overmix. Mix in pecans.
Pour in loaf pan and sprinkle two tablespoons of vanilla caster sugar.
Bake in over for about 60 mins or until a toothpick inserted into the centre of the cake comes out clean.
Remove from the oven and allow to cool for 5 minutes, before turning onto a cake rack.

The sugar sprinkled on top worked really well, it melted into this lovely sticky caramel that is very likely to become a staple of my sweet breads…

This entry was posted in baking, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to carrots and courgette bread

  1. Deeba @ PAB says:

    This is lovely, and I love that you added carrots to it as well! YUM!!

  2. It was delicious, thanks so much for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

