victory sandwich

Last saturday we went and visited my boyfriend’s Nanna. She is now 92 years old and lives in a home, so his mother’s plan was for all of us to show up with some treats and keep her company for a while. I was in charge of the Victoria Sandwich. I had never made one before, so I decided to use Mary Berry’s Perfect Victoria Sandwich recipe. Followed it exactly to the letter. It was easy. Easy. And I don’t say that very often. Easy. It came together beautifully and posed nicely for pictures.

victoria sandwich

I managed to take it to the home without it coming apart, which is a bit of an achievement. We spent the whole afternoon with her, mostly singing and gesticulating to ‘The Wheels on The Bus’ as directed by my almost-2-year-old niece, who had the choreography down and constantly checked that everyone was taking part. Even Nanna did – at one point she even laughed, which was extraordinary. I had never seen it before, and apparently it’s not that usual. I’m sure it was all because of the little girl checking on our dancing, but I like to think that my cake was a small part of it. Very small, but it was there to help.

Mary Berry’s Perfect Victoria Sandwich Recipe

This entry was posted in baking, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

