orange muesli and bran flakes

More oranges. I seem to buy oranges every time someone has some sort of health problem. My boyfriend has been complaining about his allergies lately (we don’t know what he’s allergic to yet) so I decided I’d buy some oranges because well, they’re probably good for everything, right? Anyway, I bought about 4 kg of them as they were on sale; since, I have put orange juice, zest, and anything else possible on everything I can.

orange muesli and bran flakes

orange muesli and bran flakes

I had been meaning to try this granola for a while – it uses orange juice instead of butter (or oil?) and that makes it quite healthy for a granola. I know, I know granola is healthy, but if I can make it that much healthier, I will at least try it. The recipe comes from this blog, that has lots of granola and granola bars, most of which I’ve bookmarked.

It is a good granola, although I think next time I’ll think twice about adding cinnamon. It just makes it… Christmassy, you know? Which is quite odd in March – anyway, guess I have to try it without.

I put it in a pretty jar and decided to take pictures of it. I also added my attempt at bran flakes (and two bananas for good measure; these are the contents of my breakfast).

These bran flakes are lovely. I found them here, and when Julie (the blogger) said nutty, she meant nutty. I actually added ground flax seeds instead of just almonds, which probably made it even nuttier. Making them was also a fun experience, and one I will repeat. And let me tell you, they are delicious!

I’ve decided that these will make part of our regular breakfasts from now on. I might not make them every single week, but will definitely be making them frequently and in big batches. I doubled the amounts in the original bran flakes recipe, but it still was enough for only about 8 servings. Also, the original recipe calls for parchment paper for rolling the cereal, but I found that didn’t work at all – either that or my parchment paper is rubbish. Either way, silicone mats are the way to go as far as I’m concerned.

mmmmm breakfast

mmmmm breakfast

Orange Coconut Muesli
(adapted from Anja’s Food 4 Thought)
1/3 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
1 tablespoon orange zest
2 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons barley malt extract
1 teaspoon cinnamon (I’ll omit this next time – use at your discretion)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups oats
1/2 cup wheat bran
1/2 cup ground flax seeds
1 cup chopped almonds
1 cup desiccated coconut
1 cup chopped cranberries
Preheat oven to 150 degrees C.
In a pot, combine the orange juice, honey, barley malt extract, cinnamon, vanilla extract and orange zest. Warm over low heat until combined. Set aside.
In a bowl, combine oats, wheat bran, ground flaxseed, and almonds. Pour the liquid mixture over the dry mixture and mix gently until well combined. Place mixture on a shallow baking tray – spread evenly so that everything cooks at the same time, and put in the oven. After about 10 minutes, add coconut and mix everything around a bit to ensure all gets equally toasted. Bake for another 10-15 mins (total baking time is about 20-25 mins). Remove from the oven and mix in cranberries. Allow to cool and store in an airtight container.
Anja says it yields about 15 servings but I must say I didn’t really count. Be sure to visit her site and see all the stuff she comes up with – her recipes are awesome!
Bran flakes
(recipe adapted from Willow Bird Baking)
1 cup bran
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/3 cup ground almonds
1/3 cup ground flaxseed
4 tablespoons brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup milk
1/2 cup water
Preheat oven to 180 degrees C.
Place dry ingredients into a large mixing bowl and add milk and water. Mix until thoroughly combined. Divide mixture into 3 parts, and set a silicone mat on the counter where you will be rolling the cereal.
Put one of the parts on your mat and spread it with your hands. when nicely spread, place some cling film (roughly same size as your mat) over it and roll the mixture out until very thin. Carefully transfer to a baking sheet and bake in the oven for about 10 minutes – Julie’s advice is to check it from the 5 minute mark to make sure it doesn’t burn. I found that to be there the 10 minutes, you’re really just drying it so when you get a sort of dry compact mixture you should be about there.
Remove from the oven and let cool slightly. Once cool start tearing pieces of the dried mixture (roughly the size of your breakfast cereal flakes) and place them in a baking tray.
Repeat this process with the whole mixture. When all parts are cooked and made into flakes, reduce the oven temperature to about 140 degrees C. Put all the flakes in a baking sheet and bake a second time for about 20 minutes, being careful to toss and turn them after every 5 minutes to make sure they don’t burn. Allow to cool and store in an airtight container.
Yields 5-6 servings
About rollingpinsandneedles

nearly self-taught knitter and baker
This entry was posted in baking, recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to orange muesli and bran flakes

  1. Gorgeous — and I can’t wait to try orange muesli! What a fantastic idea! Yum.

    I know what you mean about making the bran flakes being a fun experience — something about the way the nontraditional “dough” comes together and the way you roll it out was so satisfying to me. I’m glad you enjoyed them!

Leave a Reply

